The Light Who Shines (Bluebell Kildare Series Book 1) by Lilo Abernathy

The Light Who Shines

(Bluebell Kildare Series Book

by Lilo Abernathy


“The characters are well developed, likable, and the story line interesting.”

“Paranormal, paranormal romance, romantic suspense and mystery fans will all enjoy the “Light Who Shines”.”

“If you haven’t gotten the book…stop sitting there and go get it!!!”

When Supernatural Investigation Bureau agent Bluebell Kildare (a.k.a. Blue) arrives at the scene of the crime, it’s obvious the grotesquely damaged body of the deceased teenage boy was caused by far more than a simple hit and run. Using her innate sixth sense, Blue uncovers a powerful magical artifact nearby. She soon discovers it acts as a key to an ancient Grimoire that was instrumental in the creation of the Vampire breed and still holds the power to unravel the boundaries between Earth and the Plane of Fire.

Blue and her clever wolf Varg follow a trail that starts at the Cock and Bull Tap and leads all through the town of Crimson Hollow. Between being sidelined by a stalker who sticks to the shadows and chasing a suspect who vanishes in thin air, the case is getting complicated. If that isn’t enough, Dark Vampire activity hits a record high, and hate crimes are increasing. However, it’s Blue’s growing feelings for Jack Tanner, her magnetic Daylight Vampire boss, that just might undo her.

While Blue searches for clues to nail the perpetrator, it seems someone else is conducting a search of their own. Who will find whom first?

Danger lurks in every corner, and Blue needs all her focus in this increasingly dangerous game or she risks ending up the next victim.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Rated R: a few scenes contain graphic violence and explicit sex; recommended for 17+ years

Primary Genre: urban fantasy

Alternative Genres: mystery, crime fiction, suspense, thriller, paranormal romance, alternative history fantasy, dark fantasy

Content Tags: detective, murder, vampire, wolf, demon, magic, witch, burning, psychic, empath, sensitive, aura, Smoky Mountains


The story is placed in our world with an alternate history in contemporary times where three different breeds of humans exist: regular humans as you and I know them, magically Gifted humans, and Vampires (Dark and Light). The culture is strife with tension as these three breeds deal with a bloody history and lingering hate.


The heroine is a paranormal inspector named Bluebell Kildare (a.k.a. Blue) who was born with the gift of being a sensitive. Her physical abilities are limited, but she is an assertive woman with a will of steel. As the story moves forward, she learns there is more to her power then she originally thought.


The story starts out at the scene of the crime where a teenage boy was found horrifically tortured and murdered. The plot follows the investigation of that crime and unfolds from the alternating first person perspectives of the heroine (Bluebell Kildare) and hero (Blue’s boss, Jack Tanner).


There are some deeper aspects to this story as the characters begin to explore the nature of good and evil. The main societal conflict present in this world is prejudice and hate, and it is in fact the primary underlying theme for the book. While the typical prejudices we see in our reality don’t exist in this world, the author has flipped the lens of prejudice to focus on the three different breeds of humans. The characters are forced to deal with the prejudices that permeate their society on both a professional and a personal level, in an environment where hate seems on the knife’s edge of destroying their dearly bought peace.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: